Press Room

Breaking news, press releases and statements from the Writers Guild of America, East

Thursday September 15, 2016

2016 WGAE Council Election Results

WGAE_logo_colorNEW YORK, NY (September 15,  2016) – The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) today announced the results of its 2016 Council election.

This year, there were ten open Council seats, seven (7) Freelance and three (3) Staff. Officer seats were not up for election this year.

Freelance members work in screen, television and digital media, and Staff members work in television, radio and digital news shops.

All terms begin immediately and run through September 2018.

The results for the 2016 WGAE Council Election are:

  • Elected as Freelance members on the Council: John Auerbach (i), Kyle Bradstreet (i), Lisa Takeuchi Cullen, A.M. Homes, Christopher Kyle (i), Theresa Rebeck, Beau Willimon (i)
  • Elected as Staff members on the Council: Gail Lee (i), Kathy McGee (i), Matt Nelko

“(i)” denotes incumbent

In this election, all six incumbents who ran were re-elected to the Council. Of the ten Council seats open in this election, half were won by women.


The Writers Guild of America, East, AFL-CIO (WGAE) is a labor union representing writers in motion pictures, television, cable, digital media and broadcast news. The Guild negotiates and administers contracts that protect the creative and economic rights of its members; conducts programs, seminars and events on issues of interest to writers; and presents writers’ views to various bodies of government. For more information on the Writers Guild of America, East, visit


Back to top