Press Room

Breaking news, press releases and statements from the Writers Guild of America, East

Wednesday September 20, 2017

WGAE Announces 2017 Council Election Results

NEW YORK, NY (September 19, 2017) – The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) today announced the results of its 2017 Council election.

This year, there were nine open Council seats, six (6) Freelance and three (3) Staff, as well as the offices of President, Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer.

Freelance members work in screen, television and digital media, and Staff members work in television, radio and digital news shops under the Guild’s jurisdiction.

Beau Willimon was elected President.

Vice President Jeremy Pikser (i) and Secretary-Treasurer Bob Schneider (i) were both re-elected.

Elected as Freelance members on the Council: Bonnie Datt (i), Susan Kim (i), Courtney Simon (i), David Simon, Amy Sohn and Tracey Scott Wilson.

The runner-up to the six open Freelance Council seats, Andrea Ciannavei (i), was elected to a one-year term on the Council to fill the vacancy created by Beau Willimon’s election as President.

Elected as Staff members on the Council: Kim Kelly, Hamilton Nolan and Phil Pilato (i).

“(i)” denotes incumbent

The Writers Guild of America, East, AFL-CIO (WGAE) is a labor union representing writers in motion pictures, television, cable, digital media and broadcast news. The Guild negotiates and administers contracts that protect the creative and economic rights of its members; conducts programs, seminars and events on issues of interest to writers; and presents writers’ views to various bodies of government. For more information on the Writers Guild of America, East, visit


Back to top