Press Room

Breaking news, press releases and statements from the Writers Guild of America, East

Tuesday February 12, 2019

Writers Guild Awards: Presenters Added to New York Ceremony

NEW YORK, NY (February 11, 2019) — The Writers Guild of America, East announced the final slate of presenters set to appear at the 71st annual Writers Guild Awards at New York’s Edison Ballroom on Sunday, February 17, 2019.

Presenters at the New York ceremony include actor Noah Emmerich (THE AMERICANS), writer and director Marielle Heller (CAN YOU EVER FORGIVE ME?), actress Marin Hinkle (THE MARVELOUS MRS. MAISEL), Academy Award-winning screenwriter Tarell Alvin McCraney (MOONLIGHT), national correspondent and weekend morning show co-host Michelle Miller (CBS THIS MORNING), Academy Award-winning documentary filmmaker Michael Moore (FAHRENHEIT 11/9), actress J. Smith-Cameron (SUCCESSION) and The Lonely Island’s Jorma Taccone (SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE).

Previously, it was announced that the New York Ceremony will be hosted by THE DAILY SHOW WITH TREVOR NOAH correspondent and stand-up comedian Roy Wood Jr. and will feature presenters Jimmy Fallon (THE TONIGHT SHOW WITH JIMMY FALLON), Ellie Kemper (UNBREAKABLE KIMMY SCHMIDT), Mj Rodriguez (POSE), Tony Shalhoub (THE MARVELOUS MRS. MAISEL), and Kenan Thompson (SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE).

JuIianna Margulies (THE GOOD WIFE, ER) will present Tom Fontana (OZ, HOMICIDE: LIFE ON THE STREET) with the Ian McLellan Hunter Award for Career Achievement.

James Schamus (CROUCHING TIGER, HIDDEN DRAGON; INDIGNATION) will present the Black List founder Franklin Leonard with the Evelyn F. Burkey Award for bringing honor and dignity to writers.

Hamilton Nolan (Splinter News) will present WGA East staff member Randall Jansta with the Richard B. Jablow Award for Devoted Service to the Guild.

The New York ceremony will be co-executive produced by Bonnie Datt and Shannon Walker. Ann Cohen will serve as the show’s head writer.

The New York ceremony is sponsored by Vision Media Management, Final Draft, iMoxie Media, W New York – Times Square and Bananagrams.

The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, videogames, news, radio, promotional, and graphic animation categories. The 2019 Writers Guild Awards (71st Annual) will be presented at concurrent ceremonies on Sunday, February 17, 2019, in New York City at the Edison Ballroom and in Los Angeles at the Beverly Hilton. For more information about the 2019 Writers Guild Awards, please visit or

For media inquiries about the 2019 WGA New York City show, please contact Jason Gordon in the WGAE Communications Department at (212) 767-7809 or

For media inquiries about the 2019 WGA Los Angeles show, please contact Gregg Mitchell in the WGAW Communications Department at (323) 782-4651 or

The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) and the Writers Guild of America West (WGAW) are labor unions representing writers in motion pictures, television, news and new media. The Guilds negotiate and administer contracts that protect the creative and economic rights of their members; conduct programs, seminars, and events on issues of interest to writers; and present writers’ views to various bodies of government. For more information on the Writers Guild of America, East, visit For more information on the Writers Guild of America West, visit


Back to top